Peterman’s Eye, Barter Quest, Freecycle, Genealogy

Official usage of Rusyn, Croatian, and Czech l...
Image via Wikipedia

Here is something I don’t understand about Freecycle.org (I belong to the Chesterton group). More often than I want to see, someone posts a “wanted” notice for something very expensive. In this case, someone wanted a dehumidifier. When my own broke, I bought another one, never thinking about asking for it on Freecycle.org. I did not have the idea the free trade website was for charity. I am open to your input on this, because I am truly baffled. If you are unfamiliar with the site, it allows you to recycle unused stuff you have. The person who wants (or better, needs) your item is on the honor system not to sell, but to pass on to another that item when no longer needed. I would like to hear from freecycle.org users about their experiences. Write me at left2write@hotmail.com. Now let’s get on with this week’s picks.

Peterman’s Eye (www.petermanseye.com). If you area thinking of Elaine from Seinfeld, you are right on the money. This is a Peterman newsletter full of interesting stuff, and written well by the way. I used to receive the Peterman catalogs in the mail. I had lots of fun reading it and drooling over some of the women’s clothing, but I never placed an order. Of course the company eventually dropped me from its mailing list. I am making this story longer than need be, but I want to mention that I discovered Peterman’s Eye via the Free Stuff Times website. There is a sweepstakes presently going on that you need to enter. The grand prize is $5000 to spend on a vacation anywhere you want. Peterman has written a nice suggestion about visiting the south of France, and he includes his itinerary. Check it out.

Barter Quest (www.barterquest.com). As our economy continues to tank, the idea of bartering becomes more appealing. Barter Quest “supports the cashless exchange of goods, services and real estate.” What’s more, it verifies its users so that it can screen out potential scammers. The site launched in December, 2008, and has the potential to pick up many more users. One can browse without registering, which I would certainly recommend for any site you frequent.

Genealogy (www.genealogy.com). A new television program about tracing lost ancestors has set many on the road to researching their own families. The t.v. Program is partially sponsored by Ancestry.com. If you are looking to get into the hobby, know that Ancestry.com is not a free resource. In fact, it can be quite pricey. At the genealogy site I recommend here you can access many free tutorials to get you started. More than ten years ago, I embarked on my own family research. My mother’s heritage is Rusyn, which historically is an ethnic group without a country of its own who lives in what is today, Slovakia. But they are not Czech, nor Slovak, nor Ukrainian, nor Hungarian. Try researching your family roots when country boundaries changed with the wars and the Rusyn language is its own unique Slavic dialect with a Cyrillic alphabet. And surnames often were misspelled at Ellis Island. Researching your British or French relatives would be a piece of cake to those of us who possess Rusyn or Lemko roots. (Lemko is the Polish-like equivalent of the Rusyn/Slovak/Ukrainian misidentification). Anyway, the Internet makes it easy for you to get started on the journey of uncovering your family background. Start with Google. But don’t start with Google if your surname search is Smith. Good luck with that one.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
~ by IndianaDunesPoet on June 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
