Free/Accidental $$, Pet Tube

LOS ANGELES, CA - FEBRUARY 20:  Gold money cli...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

Kickstarter (www.kickstarter.com). This has nothing to do with a motor scooter. Instead, the website invites project creators to propose an idea worth funding. The people who are accepted for a fundable project can keep 100% of what they collect from people like you and me who think the project deserves to succeed. This website has some potential, and it is definitely valuable for artists, writers, designers, musicians, journalists, athletes, filmmakers, inventors, adventurers and who knows who else. The trick for those seeking funding is finding a way to grab an invite. I’m not sure how easy or difficult that might be. Judging from those soliciting money for their projects, I would think it might be easy. I did not see any earthshaking kinds of projects. Some of the fundees are not asking for a lot of monetary support, so their funding goals are attained fairly fast. Whether you have a bright idea you are passionate about promoting, or have a bunch of extra change burning a hole in your pocket, scope out Kickstarter and see for yourself.

Accidental Income (www.accidentalincome.com). An accidental millionaire shares his insights and observations, as well as lessons learned before, during and after receiving his windfall. “The site is really about paying attention and not taking your good fortune for granted,” says this blogger. You are wondering how the “accident” happened, right? It had to do with company stock options, if you must know. Expect to read wise advice that you’ve heard before about building and keeping a nest egg. And what better time to do this as you remain hopeful despite our economy’s shaky state.

Online Games (www.clevermedia.com). No registration required for bunches of online games waiting to be played. They’re all free to play. And you don’t have to register unless you wish to keep track of, and compare your scores with others. There are two categories: Game Scene and MacMost. Maybe there is something waiting here for you to discover.

Pet Tube (www.pettube.com). First there was YouTube, then I Can Has Cheezburger, and finally, Pet Tube. Combine the concepts of the first two, and you have the makings for a website that brings cute videos of very huggable pets into your virtual world. Of course, I am a sucker for the Cute Overload, Daily Puppy, Daily Kitten. LOLcats, and all the rest. Just one little warning: be careful of which videos you choose to watch. Some of those I wanted to sample took forever to upload, and I gave up. And that is where I Can Has Cheezburger—a mostly static site, rates higher than something like Pet Tube for me.

Lastly, an update about my Twitter experience. It is appearing to be very short-lived, since I can rarely find anything interesting to say, and when I do, I have to go through the motions of logging on, with my password, which I have trouble remembering. By the time I’ve logged on, I’ve forgotten what I wanted to say. Just to be fair, I will give it another week’s chance to make having it worthwhile. Otherwise, I will recommend deleting it, along with hundreds of other Twitter accounts that say nothing.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
~ by IndianaDunesPoet on August 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
